Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Special Tony Award Winners Announced

The winners of the Special Tony Awards for 2011 have been announced. The 2011 Special Tony for lifetime achievement in the theater will go to Athol Fugard, the South African playwright, director, and actor, and to Philip J. Smith, Chairman of the Shubert Organization. In addition, playwright and activist Eve Ensler (author/creator of The Good Body and The Vagina Monologues) is receiving the Isabel Stevenson Award, which was created to recognize "an individual from the theater community who has made a substantial contribution of volunteered time and effort on behalf of one or more humanitarian, social service, or charitable organizations, regardless of whether such organizations relate to the theater." (

Fugard is probably best known for his plays Master Harold ... and the boys and Exits and Entrances. His plays bring forth the struggles of appartheid and are a record of the South African experience, which have helped the fight against racism.

Smith has been involved with the Shubert organization in various functions for 50 years, including box office treasurer, president (1996-2008) and now chairman.

Ensler, author and creator of The Vagina Monologues, is being honored for her creation and management of V-Day, a global organization working to prevent violence against women and girls.

No comments:

Post a Comment